.:And I’m Breathing Slowly Like You Said To Do When You Had Lost Control:.

 

I feel slightly silly.  This post is about a tiny little rodent.  But let me tell you about my little Drakula. 

About four years ago, my sister got a rabbit for her birthday.  We had been begging our parents for little animals since we moved in that house.  I always kept guinea pigs as a kid at our old house.  Finally they caved.  And my mom was talking to the pet store owner where Ang got her rabbit, who happens to breed guinea pigs.  Her mommeh piggy was expecting so the babies probably would be ready to sell by July that year.  Since Angela got her rabbit, it was only fair that I get the guinea pig I was begging for on my birthday too.  My mom constantly asked the owner for updates, and they talked so often that we even got first pick. 

My goal was to look for a black one so I could name it Midnight.  Otherwise, I wasn’t sure.  If I recall, there were only two that even had black on them.  So I picked the little black and white cutie that caught my eye.  Drakula.  I don’t really know why I picked that name.  He looks like a Drakula to me. 

Before I go on, let me tell you a bit about my experience with guinea pigs.  I was young, so whenever I wanted to take them out and play with them, my mom would have to do it because they would run around the cage and I’d never be able to catch them.  I’ve had guinea pigs run away and hide under the bed so we had one hell of a time trying to get them to come out.  I’ve been bitten.  I’ve been pooped on, so I would never hold them without an old blankie for them to do their business in. 

Drakula was so different.  When I brought him home, I held him right away and he was as squirmy as all the others.  He made his inevitible escape that day.  He hid behind the couch, but I was eventually able to grab him.  I picked him up so often that he got used to being around me.  In fact, he enjoyed being around me.  I was able to put him on my bed and he would not try to jump off.  He would sit there.  He even knew that potty time was for his cage only, after awhile. 

He had a personality all his own too.  I’ve never seen a guinea pig who would stand on their back legs and squeak when I sang. (I’m constantly singing.)  Or the way he would take his carrot… hilarious.  He would be hiding in his little igloo thing in his cage and I’d put his carrot in there. Then you’d just see his little nose poke out, he’d grab the carrot, and the disappear back into the igloo.  But I swear, you could hear him purring.  His mating dance was pretty comical too.  He did it for his girlfriend Hershey, who I bought a year later.  She didn’t like it very much, but I think he was pretty sad when she was gone.  I’ve also never seen a guinea pig who would purr at pleasant sounds.  He liked the noise my phone made when I sent text messages and he purred at some songs too.

He was a strange silly one, let me tell ya.  Sadly, a guinea pig’s average lifespan is about 4-6 years. He recently became sick and I tried to help him.  I kept him alive for a few days, but he passed away last night.  I was there when he died, and he didn’t look very comfortable.  But I got to pet him one last time. 

Like I said, I feel really silly.  He’s a small animal that costs about 30-40 dollars, but he was my little baby boy and I am sad that he’s gone. 

xmasdrak01 smartdrak drak8

drak (2)

drak2 (2)

SDC11376

RIP Drakula, I miss you.

cutekisses

♥Jessi

 

2 thoughts on “.:And I’m Breathing Slowly Like You Said To Do When You Had Lost Control:.

  1. Tebor says:

    Cute lil guy… I’m glad he was very well loved while he was in this world.

  2. @Tebor – Thanks.  He was veeeery loved. I spoiled him with all the treats and carrots I could ^_^ 

Thoughts?

