.:It Lasted Forever and Ended So Soon:.

   

“Here comes summer,
Here comes summer,
Chirping robin, budding rose.
Here comes summer,
Here comes summer,
Gentle showers, summer clothes.
Here comes summer,
Here comes summer —
Whoosh–shiver–there it goes.”

“Here Comes” by Shel Silverstein. A Light in the Attic page 32.

I came across the poem a few weeks back on a particular sunny day when I decided to sit outside on my blanket with my book.  I’ve enjoyed poetry by Shel Silverstein since I was a child and I love to read it every so often to put a smile on my face. 

Summer vacation is over.  It made no real difference to me.  I had to work the same schedule I normally work all summer long anyway, just without having to go to class later.  Honestly, I’d prefer class.  Really, the only thing that made it feel like summer was the fact that my friends were home from school to hang out with me.  It was all very nice though.  The bowling every other Monday night, the movie nights, the Thursday “literacy” group meeting also known as TACS… I enjoyed it all.  The Thursday night group will continue, but will be missing some people.  But anyway, it’s back to business for us all.

I logged onto Facebook several times during the day as I was sick and didn’t feel like doing much else.  Every other status I saw was something about “back to school”.  I couldn’t really relate to this. My advanced web page authoring class starts tomorrow night.  Then Database Design starts Wednesday.  Going to night classes only two times a week bores me. I really want a full schedule.   Too bad I can’t afford it. 

Where was I going with this?

Oh yeah.  I’m looking foward to classes and all, but I’m sad that summer ended so soon.  I feel like it just started and now it’s over.  But, I guess that’s how it goes every year…SDC11246
Here comes summer… Whoosh–shiver–there it goes.

β™₯Jessi

Oh, and happy 21st birthday to the lovely Katie

 

 

Thoughts?

