.:I Should’ve Started Some Years Ago Digging That Hole:.

The song of the week is the last of the new singles that I’m uber excited about.  “At the Bottom” by Brand New.  The sound is rather different than what they usually do but I still really like it. 

http://assets.myflashfetish.com/swf/mp3/notebook.swf?myid=28389264&path=2009/08/28 

Wait, watched you throw out your bouquet
Now I think about you everyday
I’m alone now in my bed

And there’s a lake
And at the bottom you’ll find all our friends
They don’t swim cause they’re all dead
We never are what we intend or invent

Cause I make little lies and then I pull them apart
Think something dark’s living down in my heart
And if I wanted to die before I got old
I should’ve started some years ago digging that hole

Well I carry this box to the proper place
And when I lower it down
I let it you fade away
I hope that you would do this for me
I’d serve you drugs on a silver plate
If I thought it would help you get away
I hope that you would do this for me

A deer that a hunter shot in the heart
Some dogs that got hit by cars
All came to spill their guts
And we spoke
About the Father, Son, and Holy Ghost
And which songs we had loved the most
And then we all turned to dirt
And dust

Some men die under the mountain just looking for gold
Some die looking for a hand to hold

Well I carry this box to its proper place
And when I lower it down
I let you fade away
I know that you would do this for me
I’d serve you drugs on a silver plate
If I thought it would help you get away
I hope that you would do this for me

I’m slowly bringing you down from the heavenly gates
Now I’m drowning in the flood I made
Well explain myself to me on the other side
I’ll watch from Heaven when I die

Well I carry this box to the proper place
And when I lower it down
I let you fade away
I know that you would do this for me
I’d serve you drugs on a silver plate
If I thought it would help you get away
I hope that you would do this for me


But wait, it doesn’t end here!

Decided I’d share some adventures which will more than likely appear to be rants. 

Yesterday, I decided to go with my mom and sister to Ang’s open house at her high school.  I graduated from said high school in 2006 and haven’t seen the place since.  They were beginning construction the year I left, so I really wanted to see what had changed and hopefully run into some familiar teachers.

How it works is we pick up the students’ schedule and then follow it like a normal day. They give you ten minutes to find the classroom and seven for the teacher to explain the class. 

So we did that.  We went to Angela’s Algebra class and all was well and good until some parent decided to ask if the kids would be doing any homework without being allowed to use calculators like “when we was kids”. 

It made me scoff and roll my eyes.  Kids are more technology based now and it’s not a really big deal. This is how the world is turning. 

But then the teacher’s assistant  made some joke about how it’s not fair that “he can use a calculator but you couldn’t.”    A joke.  That’s all.  Now, I’m not going to say this guy got mad or anything, but he seemed irritated.  It was just a joke!  But he says “well, it’s not even that. It’s just I go to McDonald’s and the machine breaks down, and the young lady can’t even give me my change.”  And that turned into some whole discussion. At this point, I’m glaring.  Obviously because I was personally offended by his example choice. 

Now, you may not see the big deal here.  My mom sure as hell didn’t.  No, it’s not like he was attacking me personally.  Or people who work at McDonald’s or any similar fast food place. But I was still annoyed as all hell.

First, I don’t know what McDonald’s he went to.  But this scenario is not at all possible.  Even if the machine happened to “break down” in the middle of a transaction, the cashier would still have been able to see the change on the screen before it happened.  The number comes up the moment you type it in and open the drawer.  Immediately. 

Second, we have enough assholes to deal with. You think we really want to serve someone who’s silently judging us on our math skills, or lack thereof?  No.  Take your money elsewhere.  I don’t need you. 

Third, there are some people who can’t do math in their head believe it or not.  I am one of them.  It doesn’t mean I am stupid.  It means… well who cares?  Maybe some of us don’t like math. Or some of us have learning disablities such as Dyscalculia (which I am almost convinced that I have although I have never confirmed this) that make it hard to do math.  Some of us just don’t think we have to.  Technology is taking over so get over it.

Fourth, go fuck yourself.  Seriously.  You’re an ass.

Now. Onward.

My next adventure was today.  I went to school to pick up my books so I could get started on my Database Design homework which is due Wednesday.  I got my Advanced Web Authoring book which doesn’t make a difference since I don’t have any book work in that class.  But guess which book was out? 

The dude there told me to “check back on Tuesday”.  Let’s take a look at my schedule, shall we?  Tuesday I work. Until 2pm.  I also have my Web Page class that night at 6.  After that, it will be almost bed time.  So yes, I could make it to campus early and pick up the book.  But let’s look at Wednesday now.  Work until 3pm, I believe.  Then Database Design at 6.  Which is when that homework is due.  When will I have time to finish it? 

This doesn’t really work for me.

Alright, I guess that’s it. 

I need a drink.

♥Jessi


Thoughts?

