.:I Would Change My Direction and Save Myself Before I Drown:.

Let’s talk music. Muuuuuusic… my favorite subject. ♪ 

First off, it’s Friday- so the song of the week will be posted.  On top of that, I am going to try my hand at writing some CD reviews.  Back in the days of Veins of Glass, I was going to write a review on Shallow Life by Lacuna Coil when it released.  I never got around to it, mostly because I figured that no one on the web really cared about my opinion anyway.  But then I remember that this is my personal blog. Do I really care if someone doesn’t want to read my opinions?  Well, not really. Though having more readers would be nice.  I digress.

Anyway, I’m going to give it a go.  I am going to tell you what I think of the new Chevelle CD, Sci-Fi Crimes.  Now, I realize it would make sense to use a Chevelle song as the Song of the Week (thus making the title a quote from said song) but I decided to use my most played song this week. Which is “Drown” by Three Days Grace.  I just got ahold of their first CD thanks to Daveface.  And I think it is simply excellent.  Now I need to get my hands on One-X  and their new one… 

Okay so here it is…


Song of the Week

http://assets.myflashfetish.com/swf/mp3/notebook.swf?myid=29957831&path=2009/09/18

Good morning day
Sorry I’m not there
But all my favourite friends
Vanished in the air
It’s hard to fly when you can’t even run
Once I had the world, but now I’ve got no one

If I needed someone to control me
If I needed someone to hold me down
I would change my direction
And save myself before I
If I needed someone to control me
If I needed someone to push me around
I would change my direction
And save myself before I drown….drown

Good morning day
Sorry you’re not here
All those times before
We’re never this unclear
It’s hard to walk when you can’t even crawl
Once I had this world, but now I’ve lost it all

If I needed someone to control me
If I needed someone to hold me down
I would change my direction
And save myself before I
If I needed someone to control me
If I needed someone to push me around
I would change my direction
And save myself before I drown

Rolling faster than I’m breathing
Drown
Rolling faster than I’m breathing
Drown
Rolling faster than I’m breathing

If I needed someone to control me
If I needed someone to hold me down
I would change my direction
And save myself before I
If I needed someone to control me
If I needed someone to push me around
I would change my direction
And save myself before I
(Save myself before I drown, save myself before I drown, save myself before I drown)


Chevelle is one of those bands that has a unique sound, even if it’s hard to tell, it’s there.  The thing I like most about them is that I can put my entire collection of their music on shuffle and it’s difficult for me to detect which song came from what album.  Don’t ask why that’s a likeable quality to me, but it is.  I guess it means that they are so comfortable with their sound that they don’t need to make any drastic changes to it.  Change is not always a good thing when it comes to music.  I really like that I can always hear a song and say “Yes, that’s definitely Chevelle.”  And at the same time, there is always something different about it.  Something I still haven’t figured out.  And when they made Sci-Fi Crimes, they did not stray from this quality.  It is the classic Chevelle sound that I love, only somehow better.  This is an excellent CD and in my opinion, their best one.  Some songs that I suggest from that album are “Jars”, “This Circus”, “Highland’s Apparition”, “Letter from a Theif”, and “Roswell’s Spell”.  The other songs are great too, but if you want to get a good feel for what this CD is all about, those are the ones you should definitely give a listen to. 

A full ♫♫♫♫♫  for Chevelle’s Sci-Fi Crimes!


So since we’re on the subject of music, I’m going to do one of these things.  I love these kinds of surveys because the answers are rarely the same. You can do them over again and it’s like a different survey for all your friends to read!

That’s right. Put your songs on shuffle, and those are the answers! With commentary from Jessi!!

Opening Credits:  
“What a Shame” by Shinedown. Great song.  Not sure if it’s a good opening credit song for my life but okay.
 
Waking Up:  
“Fifteen” by Taylor Swift. This might have been appropriate in 2002, when I was a wee little freshman in high school 
 
Average Day:  
“What it is to Burn” by Finch. This makes me sound like an emo!
 
First Date: 
“Vindicated” by Dashboard Confessional. Um. Okie. What?
 
Falling In Love: 
“Before He Cheats” by Carrie Underwood. Oh. That’s just great.  
 
Love Scene:  
“Red Sam” by Flyleaf.  Don’t really have a comment here.
 
Fight Scene:  
“Wake Up (acoustic)” by Three Days Grace. Not really.
 
Breaking Up: 
“Shallow Bay” by Breaking Benjamin. Not fitting. As much as I love them..
 
Getting Back Together:  
“Anything But Ordinary” by Avril Lavigne. What the hell? These are starting to suck.
 
Secret Love: 
“Herzleid” by Rammstein. Seeing as how this is German for “heart ache” or something like that… Um that’s not a good sign haha
 
Life’s Okay: 
“Rammstein” by Rammstein.  Uh, that’s about this disaster. Life was not okay there that day.
 
Mental Breakdown: 
“Down” by 311. Again, not fitting.
 
Driving: 
“Intoxication” by Disturbed.  Haha okay. LMAO
 
Learning A Lesson: 
“Bleed Black” by AFI. Gah.
 
Deep Thought: 
“Driven Under” by Seether. Okay that works.  I guess.
 
Flashback: 
“If You Want Me” from the Once Soundtrack. Hm. Not really. Cute song though.
 
Happy Dance: 
“Still Frame” by Trapt.  Yeah. “Please help me cuz I’m breaking down. This picture’s frozen and I can’t out.” That’s happy.
 
Regretting: 
“Memories” by Within Temptation. Okay that works just by the title, I’d say. 
 
Long Night Alone: 
“Tim McGraw” by Taylor Swift.  That’s not an “alone” song.
 
Death Scene: 
“Nebel” by Rammstein.  I will definitely agree there.  How come I died after a “long night alone”?  And how come I regretted my happy dance, come to think of it? 
 
Closing Credits:
“Jaws Theme Swimming” by Brand New. Yeah… I love them. So they can be my closing credit if they want. 

Hmmm. If my life were a movie, it’d make no sense at all. According to my music. 

Well I am going to have to say that this concludes my post.  Happy Friday and have an awesome weekend! 

♥Jessi

Thoughts?

