.:Will I Sing Hallelujah, Will I Be Able to Speak At All:.

The last couple of days have been tough to get through.  Holly’s services were beautiful. But they were so surreal.  I felt as though I was watching myself watch from a distance, like it was a dream or something.  Holly’s parents did not want to mourn her death at the funeral, but instead celebrate her life and what she has done for us while she was alive.  They asked that those of us who felt comfortable with sharing come up and tell a funny story, a touching story, or whatever sort of fond memory of her that we had.  So many people from work attended the funeral and large amount of us gave a speech.  This excluded me, because there are no words that I could have said that would sum up what a wonderful person she was.  Many said the same thing. That she was very quick to help anyone who needed it. That she was easy to talk to. That we could only hope to be the kind of person she was. That she loved to laugh, that she loved life, that she loved work.  That we loved her laugh. That we’re going to miss her. 

And I agree with every one of these things. 

One thing I heard a lot of people say, myself included, is that it happened so suddenly. That this was so unexpected.  But isn’t that how it is?  Death happens.  It’s inevitable.  It is certain that every one of us is going to pass on.  We don’t know when.  Nobody knows when.  I could die tonight or I could die fifty years from now.  Life really is a fragile thing. So waste not.

Another common thing I hear, just in general is “I never got to say goodbye… I never got to say I love you… I never got to say thank you.. and so on”.  That’s the hardest part of losing a loved one… wondering if they passed on without knowing how you felt about them.  I was lucky.  On Holly’s last day alive, I saw her in passing.  Her shift began at 3:00pm which was when mine ended.  I asked her if I could go home and she told me I could.  I went to the office to gather my things and she went to the office to do something manager-like.  My last words to her were “Goodbye Pookie… I mean Holly! (Because I got in trouble for calling her Pookie by the store manager once) I mean… wait… Mikey’s not here. Goodbye Pookie!”  I mean, of course I didn’t know that was going to be the last time I’d ever see her. But I don’t feel sad that I never got to say goodbye.  Because my last words to her were friendly words and I think she knew she was loved. 

Her parents seemed so overjoyed to see her co-workers there. I cannot stress that enough. They talked about how much it meant to them to see us because of how much she loved working with us.  They were so thankful that their daughter touched our lives so much. It made me cry.  They called us Holly’s “McDonald’s Family.” 

And Holly’s McDonald’s family will always treasure the memories we shared with her. We will miss her.

The song of the week is “I Can Only Imagine” by MercyMe.  This is my favorite worship song.  It’s beautiful because it is about wondering what it will be like to meet Jesus. No one knows exactly how they will react when they see Him but we can only imagine.  I want to dedicate it to Holly who is living in the House of God.

(Also, the player this week is a kitty, because Holly loved cats)


Song of the Week
http://assets.myflashfetish.com/swf/mp3/mp-cat.swf?myid=30506946&path=2009/09/25

I can only imagine
What it will be like
When I walk
By your side

I can only imagine
What my eyes will see
When your face
Is before me
I can only imagine

I can only imagine

[Chorus:]
Surrounded by Your glory, what will my heart feel
Will I dance for you Jesus or in awe of you be still
Will I stand in your presence or to my knees will I fall
Will I sing hallelujah, will I be able to speak at all
I can only imagine

I can only imagine

I can only imagine
When that day comes
When I find myself
Standing in the Son

I can only imagine
When all I will do
Is forever
Forever worship You
I can only imagine

I can only imagine

[Chorus]

I can only imagine [x2]

I can only imagine
When all I will do
Is forever, forever worship you

I can only imagine


♥Jessi

Thoughts?

