.:Skin White as Winter as the Sky Returns to Grey:.

Well, it’s that time of year again.  You know, the cold, frustrating time.  Filled with frozen car doors, icey roads, chilly rooms in the house, and all that snow you didn’t ask for.  Yeah, that’s right. It’s winter. 

Aside from my favorite holiday, Christmas, there is nothing I like about this time of year.  And while I’ve lived in Chicago my whole life, I hate it all the same each year. I spend the entire winter praying that April would hurry up.  Because there’s nothing like a White Christmas in the Windy City.  I’m a summer baby.  I was born in summer, and my favorite season has been summer for as long as I can remember.  My mood is usually about as bright as the sun.  And since the sun hides for a majority of winter, I pretty much want to do the same thing. 

On Wednesday, when I went on Facebook, I noticed that my aunt posted a photo album of my uncle Bob.  It’s been eight years, this month, since his death.  And we tend to miss him a lot around this time.   This is my favorite picture of him from that album:

unclebob

I want to dedicate the song of the week to him this week.  Here is “Anthem of the Angels” by Breaking Benjamin. (edit: for some reason, the normal audio player I use is not working so this is one I found on youtube.)

White walls surround us
No light will touch your face again
Rain taps the window
As we sleep among the dead

Days go on forever
But I have not left your side
We can chase the dark together
If you go then so will I

There is nothing left of you
I can see it in your eyes
Sing the anthem of the angels
And say the last goodbye
Verse 2
Cold light above us
Hope fills the heart
And fades away
Skin white as winter
As the sky returns to grey

Days go on forever
But I have not left your side
We can chase the dark together
If you go then so will I

There is nothing left of you
I can see it in your eyes
Sing the anthem of the angels
And say the last goodbye
I keep holding onto you
But I can’t bring you back to life
Sing the anthem of the angels
Then say the last goodbye

Your’re dead alive (x4)

There is nothing left of you
I can see it in your eyes
Sing the anthem of the angels
And say the last goodbye
I keep holding onto you
But I can’t bring you back to life
Sing the anthem of the angels
And say the last goodbye


We miss you, uncle Bob, your memory still lives on in our hearts. Love you.

♥Jessi Michelle

Thoughts?

