“I’m Never Getting Married”

I just read an article where the writer tells the story of her ex-boyfriend who aspired to be a priest but ended up not going through with it because he lost his virginity.

And it got me thinking… if you’re planning on being a priest, like really truly planning to, then why date?
I know someone who also wants to be a priest one day and I just can’t picture him being interested in dating. Why bother anyway? You’re not allowed to marry, right?

Which also led me to think about the people who just plain and simply don’t want to get married. Not that I’m rejecting that decision or anything but it makes me wonder why those people bother with dating at all. I mean, isn’t that the purpose of dating to begin with… to find the person that you are most compatible with and ultimately spend the rest of your life with them?
I have a friend who has been in a long term relationship with her boyfriend for awhile now and she is still convinced that she will never marry him. And being a friend of his as well I know that he does want a family one day. Not to downplay their relationship or anything because I know they care about each other… but I just wonder what the point is to continue dating.

I guess I just don’t see it the same way.

Enlighten me. I’m just curious, why do people date if they have no intention on marrying in the future?

♥Jessi Michelle

Thoughts?

