The Woe Competition

I understand that no matter how bad I think my life is at any given time, someone else always has it worse along. But what I am here to talk about today is what I like to call the “woe competition” and it drives me absolutely bonkers.
Let me give you an example.
When the restaurant I worked at decided to keep the drive thru open 24 hours, we had a few people volunteer to work overnight. They would have to give up their normal sleeping pattern in exchange for a nocturnal lifestyle, and for that I commend them. However, picture walking into work bright and ugly. Your co-worker greets you and says “how are you?” and while stifling a yawn you utter the words “I’m tired.” Cue suspenseful music. Your co-worker snaps, “I don’t even wanna hear that you’re tired! I’ve been here all night.” 
Look. I understand that you’re tired, probably more so than I am. But that doesn’t mean I’m not.
I once overheard someone mention they were broke to which someone else replied with details about their multi-thousand dollar debt.
Seriously guys? Why do you have to make it sound like a competition?
I get that maybe you want them to know that someone has it worse and they should stop complaining… but honestly what gives you the right to tell them not to complain?

I don’t really know what else to say on that subject, it’s just something I’ve always wondered about people.

Thanks for reading. If you liked my post hit follow to geek out with me every week!

-J

Thoughts?

