Changes

Well this post is going to be a little different than what I’ve been doing.  But I’m just in an okay place right now and I want to share.

If you ever read my old blogs you’d see that I was kind of in a slump. I hated my job, I was discouraged about ever making enough money to move out with my boyfriend. I wasn’t sure I was cut out for my career path (website design) so I irrationally decided I was going to become an elementary school teacher until I finally realized that all I ever wanted to do was be a photographer. Hell I was even discouraged that I would never be able to leave my crappy customer service job because it’s all I’ve done for the past 4 or 5 years and I feel like I might fail at anything else.

While not much has changed… I’m 25. I’m still at that same crappy customer service job (it’s been about 6 years) and I live with my parents.  I’ve got a lot going on over the next few months that I just feel really good about. For instance, I’m finally getting a promotion. This time a couple years ago I was feeling like I was being passed over for a crew trainer promotion left and right. People who got their training from me would get promoted while I got nothing. I would watch the floor while the managers had a meeting with nothing more than a thank you. Now that they’re in a tight spot for managers, they’ve been asking me. So I’m getting promoted to crew trainer and then we’ll see about management. Seeing as I’m moving out in the near future, I could really use the money. So I’ve decided to stay at my job for a little while longer. Eventually I’ll move on to something in my field, I really hope, but for now I’ll at least be doing something different and that makes me feel a lot better about my job.

I feel like I’m making pretty great strides in my photography also. I’ve been shooting the roller derby bouts for James’s sister’s team which has been awesome. I’m not making anything  but I feel like having the experience is going to be helpful. I’ve also been helping my friends with their sparring group by designing the logo and shooting practices for them.  I’ve been feeling really great about the work I do for my mom’s vacation pictures, and the portraits I did for my sister’s graduation and my future roomie’s new dress.  All these projects have given me something to do outside of work, and something I can hopefully show to future clients.

And lastly as I mentioned a few times I am finally moving out of my parent’s house.  My co-worker, Tara, needs to move closer to work and really needed a roommate. I suggested moving out with James and me because we could split the rent even more and we would still only need two bedrooms. James recently got a job in his field (yay!) but is not feeling comfortable moving out until he knows he will be stable. So for now it’s just Tara and I. And maybe after a year or two we’ll be able to move out on our own! This process has been exciting and terrifying at the same time. While I think I should be okay with all the raises I should be getting soon I’ve been having major anxieties about being on my own. But I’m still going to try and push through because it’s time for me to start being on my own.

All these things have given me a fresh perspective on my life and it feels so great. I still feel kind of unstable once in awhile, but I am able to work through it most of the time.  So, cheers to all the changes in my life right now!

Thanks for reading. If you liked my post hit follow to geek out with me every week!

-J

 

 

Thoughts?

