The “So Far” for Project Break the Brand

I figured I’d do a little mini-update on my progress with Project Break the Brand. If you don’t want to click the link, the summary of the post is that I’m trying to concentrate less on only buying one brand of hair products and I’m testing out things from various drugstore brands to find out what works best for me.

So. Here are the things I’ve tried thus far:

Suave Professionals Shampoo: The invigorating clean with mint and rosemary. I LOVE this shampoo. I know it sounds silly but my hair feels so much cleaner as soon I as I use it. And the smell of mint and rosemary is super refreshing. I don’t know why I doubted this shampoo… the price? It’s like half the price of the Herbal Essences moisturizing shampoo I used previously. Anyway, I’ve decided to stick to it.

Suave Professionals Conditioner: For Dry and Frizzy Hair. While I don’t love the results as much as the shampoo, it does what it promises and I still like the price better than the Herbal Essences conditioner I used before. In this case, it’s a matter of paying a little less for something that does essentially the same thing.

Suave Dry Shampoo: I don’t really think I’m sticking with this one. I wanted to try it because it’s pretty cheap and I like the concept of dry shampoo. I don’t know.. it just feels weird in my hair and I’m not sure if that’s gonna change if I use a different one. I know dry shampoo tends to leave a little bit of a residue. But I think I want to try one that feels better. And smells better. I don’t like the scent of this one. It’s strong and almost like it’s trying too hard to smell fresh and clean? It makes cough… not a huge fan. I don’t have any leads though. Anyone know of a good dry shampoo to use?

Garnier Fructis Curl Calm Down Anti-Frizz Cream: The one I used before was of course by Herbal Essences and I don’t really know if I can tell a huge difference. I like to use it after the shower because it keeps the frizzies away when I air-dry (which is the only way I dry my hair) and in that regard they’re practically identical. Herbal Essences does feel better in my hair if I put it on when it’s dry though. The Garnier one feels clumpy and weird, but does smell a little better. Maybe I’ll switch between the two?

And now some leads that I have.

Aussie Leave in Conditioner: I’ve heard really good things about this leave in conditioner so I am going to try it out. And it seems relatively cheap.

Tresemme Mousse: While Herbal Essences styling products, especially their spray gel, feel pretty nice in my hair I don’t like the way the mousse feels. Since that’s something I like to use a little more often I’m definitely looking to replace it. I have a coworker who studied at beauty school (who did warn me about various dangers of using drugstore hair products) recommend this because she liked the feel of it. So I will probably test this out the next time I need to buy more mousse.

Lastly, some Herbal Essences products that I will continue using:

Tousle Me Softly Spray Gel. Or really any of the spray gels. They’re great for the special occasion when you need to give that extra hold and they don’t feel as crunchy and sticky as regular gels.

Touchably Smooth Smoothing Serum. I love this stuff. It’s pricey for the amount you get but less really is more with this stuff. One pump to smooth out throughout my hair is enough. I use it almost every day and it lasts a long time. The only thing that MIGHT replace it is the Garnier Fructis Sleak and Shine Anti-Frizz  Serum. Because if it works like it says it does it will do the job of that stuff AND the anti-frizz cream. So I won’t need to buy both. I can just get away with one and save some money!

And then I’m looking for a product that adds an extra shine and also helps with heat protection. I have the Set Me Up Shimmer Spray and the Set Me Up Heat Protectant but they both seem like the same to me.

No, I am not being paid to mention any of these products. If you have suggestions for things to try let me know!

Thanks for reading. If you liked my post hit follow to geek out with me every week! 

-J

P.S. Please take a second  to make a donation to the Nerdy Neehigh Ninjas in their fight for Futures Without Violence, if you can! We’d really appreciate it!

Thoughts?

