Moisturize Me!

Hey! I have a beauty thing to talk about!

In an attempt to branch out and try not to stick to one particular brand, I’ve been trying out different moisturizers.  Actually, who am I kidding?  I was forced to branch out because I couldn’t find what I usually use. But I wanted to tell you a little bit about the different things I’ve tried so far and how well I think they work. Everyone’s skin is different so obviously this isn’t end-all-be-all for everyone’s routine.

I guess I’ll start by talking a little bit about my face routine. Although I’m cursed with horrendously sensitive skin (particularly with certain detergents, but in general) I’ve never had any problems with acne or breakouts in my face. So I don’t need to use anything special for acne. Obviously if you do, my routine isn’t really an example to follow. But here’s what I do.

The first thing I do in the morning before I put my make up on is wash my face with Clean & Clear Morning Burst. The smell is nice and refreshing and while it doesn’t wake me up like promised, the Vitamin C is good for my skin! Then I do my make up routine. I use Clean & Clear Morning Shine daily moisturizer in lieu of foundation because it makes my skin have a nice little shine while moisturizing at the same time. So I swear by the stuff. But unfortunately, it seems they’ve been phasing it out. I have some left, but I haven’t seen it in the stores in a long time so I don’t think I can repurchase when I run out.
At the end of the day I wash my make up off with Clean & Clear Essentials Foaming Facial Cleanser. I will probably try their other face washes because I really like it. And for my night time moisturizer I actually really LOVE Clean & Clear Morning Burst Gel Moisturizer. For awhile I thought they were getting rid of it because I couldn’t find it anywhere. But lately I’ve seen it around again, so I bought a couple.

Because I couldn’t find either of the moisturizers I was looking for, I had to try other things. I bought Garnier’s gel moisturizer. It comes in a little tub, I might have mentioned it before.  I hate the stuff. It feels so greasy and sticky at the same time! I immediately had to wash my hands after applying it and it weighed down my face.  Do. Not. Like. I deeply missed my old moisturizer. But luckily it wasn’t long before I found it again.
Then I wasn’t able to find my daily moisturizer anymore, I had to look for a replacement there too. I tried out Aveeno’s Daily Moisturizer. It kind of took a little while since I hated it at first but I decided that for now it would be good enough. It has a pretty high SPF so it gets pretty greasy right away. I just learned to use less to avoid it. I wouldn’t say I love it, but it’ll get the job done.
Then I saw a commercial for Garnier’s new sun spot treating daily moisturizer. I don’t really know what possessed me to want it so much since I hated their gel moisturizer so badly. But I went and got it anyway. And what a difference! It was like night and day. This stuff is not greasy at all, not thick or heavy. It was way cheaper than the Aveeno stuff (but still more than the Clean & Clear) which was a plus. And even though most things I’ve encountered that have a bit of SPF in them have that sunscreen smell, this does not. I mean it’s there, but it’s faint. It has a more fresh scent.  So I think I’ve found my new go-to moisturizer for my face! (Unless the Clean & Clear one magically starts coming back)

I haven’t tried anything besides that but as always, I’ll update if I do.
Not sure if this was helpful, I don’t really know how to girl.

Thanks for reading. If you liked my post hit follow to geek out with me every week! And you can follow me on Twitter: @softlysaturated

-J

 

 

Thoughts?

