General Skin Care (Salutes)

A couple posts ago, I talked in detail about my daily face washing/moisturizing routine. It got a few likes so I decided to go forth and talk about my skin care routine, in general. My face is obviously only a small percentage of my skin, so there’s definitely more to my routine!

I’ll be honest, I never really cared too much about that for a long time. I never really did anything more than, you know… bathing. And shaving. I never exfoliated or anything like that. One day while I was at Bath and Body Works, I came across the Golden Sugar Scrub. It peaked my interest, so I went ahead and picked one up. I think they were having a sale so I got a tube of their Triple Moisture Body Cream and some sort of shimmer spray as well.
In hindsight, I should have gotten the same scent because I wanted to kind of use them together, but I did not. (Sweet Pea and Japanese Cherry Blossom don’t mix so well) So I decided on kind of  a “schedule” for my routine. It works out because I have tons of different body wash and I like to change the scent every day. Another good thing is it kind of spreads everything out throughout the week so I’m not spending ages in the shower every night.

So I decided every Sunday would be exfoliating day. Since I got the sugar scrub in Sweet Pea (one of my favorite scents) I use my Sweet Pea body wash on that day. Let me tell you, since I started exfoliating weekly, it’s made a huge difference in my skin. I feel like it stays softer for a bit longer. On Sunday, I add one more step to my face routine: it’s the Clean & Clear Deep Action Cream Cleanser. It kind of has the same effect as exfoliating: a nice deep clean to keep your skin soft and smooth. It’s recommended for twice-daily use, but I’d be careful if you do that. I use it weekly because it’s pretty intense and it can be really drying.

Monday would then be a shaving day. It really makes a difference, shaving right after exfoliating. You get a closer shave and you’re less likely to nick yourself doing so. I usually use Skintimate moisturizing shave gel in various scents but sometimes I just pick up what’s on sale. Even though they have a nice distinct, usually fruity, scent, they don’t compete too much with the scent of my body washes so I can use whatever scent I want on that day.

Tuesday I would use my Japanese Cherry Blossom body wash and then just rub the Triple Moisture Body Cream all over right after. If you don’t towel off completely and put it on while you’re still kind of damp, it makes a huge difference too. It’s almost like it locks that moisture in. Smoooooooooth skin!

Then for the rest of the week I wouldn’t really do anything special. Probably just alternate between shaving and not shaving. I’m thinking of doing the moisturizing night a little bit later in the week (like Wednesday or Thursday) so it’s more spread out. I’d do it more often but I can’t afford to replace it that often. And I’m a bit of a snob when it comes to Bath and Body Works. (I’ve been better about mixing brands for other things, but I just love B&BW too much!)

And that’s my routine for the week. If you’re like me and you never cared about exfoliating, you should seriously give it a try. It really makes a huge difference. If you have any suggestions for brands that hold a candle to B&BW (and are cheaper) let me know. And if you have any requests for things you’d like to see: beauty, gaming, photography, recipes, or otherwise let me know and I’ll do my best. I’ve been trying to find a little more time to blog since I miss making regular weekly posts! Things are winding down for me now that I’m kind of getting used to my work schedule (and now that school registrations are over I’m in a more regular schedule as well) so I can definitely make it happen! And also if you want to keep up on my mini updates, don’t forget to follow me on Twitter!

Thanks for reading. If you liked my post hit follow to geek out with me every week! And you can follow me on Twitter: @softlysaturated

-J

Thoughts?

