Bath Time for My Brushes

It was time to wash my brushes and I was bored, so I went ahead and photographed the process. This the way I wash my brushes ever since I watched Michelle Phan’s video on how to do so. Before that I used make-up cleansing wipes because I didn’t like using them on my face so I figured I’d use them for something. This way works a lot better. Although I’ll admit that I still use the wipes for a quick wash here and there.  I’ll link her video at the bottom of the post if you don’t feel like reading this, or looking for it yourself. It’s worth looking into one way or the other because it’s a really easy and efficient process. And it’s cheap too! Especially if you have (and you should) these items at  your disposal.

First, get a paper plate and some dish soap and olive oil.  The dish soap is to wash them and the olive oil is to condition them.

First, get a paper plate and some dish soap and olive oil. The dish soap is to wash them and the olive oil is to condition them.

If you don't condition them, they lose they come with and they won't be as soft.

If you don’t condition them, they lose the oil they come with and they won’t be as soft.

Dab a little bit of soap, then a little bit of olive oil on your brush. On a blank spot on the plate just paint in a circular motion.

Dab a little bit of soap, then a little bit of olive oil on your brush. On a blank spot on the plate just paint in a circular motion.

You'll see all the crud just come right off.  I don't wash my brushes as often as I should  I'll admit. So here's all the gunk that came off my eyeshadow brushes.

You’ll see all the crud just come right off. I don’t wash my brushes as often as I should I’ll admit. So here’s all the gunk that came off my eyeshadow brushes.

Rinse with luke warm water! Not too hot, not too cold.

Rinse with luke warm water! Not too hot, not too cold.

Allow to dry briefly on paper towel. You don't want to keep them like this because they won't dry very fast.

Allow to dry briefly on paper towel. You don’t want to keep them like this because they won’t dry very fast.

You get these handy dandy brush guards to put over the brushes..

You get these handy dandy brush guards to put over the brushes. I got mine at the Icing. I think you can find them anywhere. Not sure.

Leave a small amount of space at the bottom. This will keep bristles from smashing when they're upside down.

Leave a small amount of space at the bottom. This will keep bristles from smashing when they’re upside down.

Then you put them upside down in a cup so the water can drip down. You store them upside down so the water doesn't drip to where the glue is holding the bristles.

Then you put them upside down in a cup so the water can drip down. You store them upside down so the water doesn’t drip to where the glue is holding the bristles.

If you keep them in a relatively warm spot, they should dry pretty quickly. I usually only let them dry upside down for a couple hours until I know they’re done dripping. Then I put them back in their normal cup right-side up so they can air out. That way they’ll be dry by morning and I can use them then.

And that’s it! Nice, clean brushes to rub all over your face-space!

Thanks for reading. If you liked my post hit follow to geek out with me every week! And you can follow me on Twitter: @softlysaturated

-J

HELPFUL LINKS:

Michelle Phan’s “Squeaky Clean Brushes”

Thoughts?

