Adulting For The Bad-At-Life

I have consistently found myself envying the people who seem like they have it all figured out, you know, people who just seem so put-together. I’ve never been very good at being an independent, grown-up, well  put-together person. Anxiety has always had a lot to do with that, along with a lack of a desire to things for myself. I’m slowly getting better at it, but it’s taken me this long to figure life out. I wanted to talk a little  bit about what I’ve learned about adulting thus far. I’m not trying to speak as though I know everything there is to know, this is just what I’ve observed and decided to apply to my own life.

One thing I’ve learned, is to not be intimidated by the “put-together” people I mentioned earlier. Why? Because they don’t exist. Everyone is working on themselves. Everyone is struggling with something. Someone who is super successful with their career might be struggling to keep friendships or relationships. Someone with the family they’ve always dreamed of may have trouble with managing money. Everyone has something. The quicker you realize this, the sooner you will start to feel more confident in yourself. The confidence won’t happen overnight, but starting to believe in yourself more is a great step.

Something else I’ve learned, especially over the past couple years, is it’s NOT to late to start a new career path. I always thought I was stuck. I worked a crappy fast food job, barely finishing a certificate in a career that I was slowly realizing with every passing semester just was not for me.  When my dad started going back to school with an interest with internet security, I’ll be honest, I didn’t think he would stick with it. But he did it. He finished school with flying colors and got a decent job in IT. If my dad could go back to school at his age and completely start a new career, then so could I! I had a passion for photography, far more than anything I’ve ever felt about web design and that’s what I wanted to do with my life. It isn’t too late to go after your goals, if that’s what you truly want.

True passion is a trump card. When it’s something you want, nothing can stop you. If you feel like you’re not a strong interviewer, you’re on the wrong interviews. It’s REALLY hard to feign an interest in a job. “Why do you want to work for (insert generic retailer here)?”
“Um… well, I’ve always had a passion for paying my rent.”
When I interviewed for Lifetouch, it was the easiest interview I’ve ever had. And I am such an awkward fetus on interviews, visibly nervous, rambly, shaky, etc. But talking about how much I love to take photographs, and how I really saw this job as a stepping stone for my future… it just came so natural to me.  Anxiety, you got nothing. Because I want this.

The last thing is something I learned from my friend Tiffany, who found it in this book she was reading. I’ve started reading it as well, I’ll post a link at the end. It almost seems so obvious, one of those “why didn’t I think of that” moments.
In order to reach your life goal, start by setting smaller goals AND a deadline. If you can’t make that deadline, it’s too large of a goal so you need to set a smaller goal.
I applied this right away.  I started my list of goals and so far I’ve already checked some of them off. If people are interested, I’ll post them at a later date, and make them sticky so you can see as I check them off. I’m attempting to also make it a goal to post more on this blog, but I’m not sure how to give myself a deadline with that.

But that’s it. Those are the ways in which I’ve started becoming better at adulting. I encourage you to do the same. Or not. But find something that works for you.

If I can do it, so can you.

Thanks for reading. If you liked my post hit follow to geek out with me every week! And you can follow me on Twitter: @softlysaturated
-J

Helpful Links

Living in Your Top 1%: Nine Essential Rituals to Achieve Your Ultimate Life Goals

Thoughts?

