Updated Face and Skin Routine

A while back, I posted about my general skin care routine and my face routine. Since then, I’ve changed what I do so I’m going to talk about my updated routine. I changed my routine for a couple reasons. The biggest one being, my old face routine was starting to dry out my face too much. So I wanted to try something gentler. I still wash my face in the morning with the same Clean & Clear Morning Burst, but I just lather it my hands and rub it on my face gently instead of using a wash cloth. Then I still use the same Garnier daily moisturizer right after. From then, I’ll determine what sort of makeup routine I want to do for the day and go from there. Sometimes that’s the last step and I go about my day, especially when I want to give my face a little makeup break. But sometimes I’ll just dust a translucent powder on, or sometimes I’ll spot treat with a little concealer, or sometimes I’ll even do the whole foundation thing. I didn’t used to like foundation at all, but I found that I wanted more coverage sometimes. I use Neutrogena’s Healthy Skin Foundation because I know that brand typically makes skin care products so I figured they’d be gentle on my sensitive skin. But not every day, just for bolder looks.
Then, at the end of the day it’s time to remove my makeup. I pretty much stopped using the face wash I was using. I was super against wipes since I used the e.l.f. ones and REALLY hated it. I’ve also used the Up and Up (Target) brand ones and I wasn’t into it. I use those to wipe my brushes between washings now. Besides that, I like products that last a long time for what I pay. And with wipes, you only get so many before you have to repurchase. Against my better judgement I bought the Clean & Clear night time ones, but those were significantly better. I found that I actually do like them, so it’s what I’ve been using. I only use them if I wear makeup that day though, so otherwise I just kind of rinse my face in the shower.
Complete the night with my favorite moisturizer still, and that’s my face.

The only thing I do differently now with my general skin care routine is the moisturizing. I really wanted better results that I knew I could get if I moisturized every day. And I knew that meant giving up being a Bath and Body Works snob. Oh, I still use their shower gel and body mist, that’s for sure. But I’ve cut out the lotion. A little bit does NOT go a long way when it comes to that. It simply does not work for everyday use. Not only that, but the whole mixing scents thing.
So I picked up a big bottle of Jergen’s Ultra Healing moisturizer and I have no regrets. I use it right in the morning before I get dressed for the day. I’ll probably switch to something more softening once winter is over, but for now my skin could use the help.

I’ve noticed a few improvements since changing it up, mainly that my skin isn’t so dry. If something’s not working for you, sometimes you just gotta change it up.

Thanks for reading. If you liked my post hit follow to geek out with me every week! And you can follow me on Twitter and Instagram at softlysaturated!
-J

Thoughts?

