Random Product Reviews

I think it’d be really fun to get in on the YouTube-style monthly favorites thing. But I don’t buy nearly enough products to participate. So instead I’ve decided to do random favorites whenever I’ve accumulated enough to review.

With that, here’s my first list of favorite (and unfavorite) products that I’ve found.

Likes
Maybelline Age Rewind Concealer -I know this isn’t a new product by any means. In fact I’m sure most of the time I won’t be reviewing new products (just products that are new to me). But I really like this stuff. It’s not necessarily and end all be all when it comes to undereye concealer, but it’s definitely better than many of the things I was using.  It really helps brighten the area.

Clean & Clear Night Relaxing Cleansing Wipes – These really changed my opinion on make-up removing wipes altogether. I did not like them before, but now I’m really open to the idea that they’re not all bad. This particular kind is has a pleasant scent, comes with an amount that is fair for the price, and does not feel slimy at all. And…

Clean & Clear Night Relaxing Deep Cleaning Face Wash – The one I was using to wash my face at night was really drying. It was a different Clean & Clear product but I can’t remember what it was. This one is way less drying and it has a really light and relaxing scent.  Side note. One thing I did notice about washing your face, is to just use like a pea sized amount of product. It really makes all the difference. If you’re feeling like your face is too dry after washing it, that’s not a good thing so try using less product.

e.l.f. Daily Brush Cleaner – What the heck is wrong with me for not having this before? I would just use cheap face wipes to clean off my brushes in between deep washings. That way I wouldn’t have any left over product the next day. I got tired of buying extra face wipes so I just used a paper towel to wipe them off, and it really didn’t get the job done. With this spray, I can just mist the brushes and then wipe off the excess product onto a paper towel. It’s been much better on the brushes. It keeps them clean and soft between their weekly cleaning.  And it smells like cucumbers! Click here if you want to know my cleaning process for my brushes. I got the idea from Michelle Phan’s video.

Dislikes
Jergen’s Shea Beauty Oil – I have really mixed feelings about this. I bought it to apply after my showers because I’m all about things to help smooth my skin. While I really like how my skin looks and feels right after I use it, I haven’t really noticed any difference long term. And I use it quite generously to get the full effect, which means I’m going through it super fast. I would like it for every day use, but I don’t know if it’s worth having to repurchase at such a quick rate. I already apply moisturizer generously every morning, so it might not even be necessary.

OGX argan oil of morocco, weightless drying oil spray – Nope. I don’t like it. I thought maybe I can apply a little argan oil to my hair on days I don’t wash my hair. But no. It’s supposed to add shine and tame frizzies. It doesn’t do either of those things and it doesn’t smell very good either. I am just gonna stick to a pump of my Matrix Anti-Frizz serum every morning. It may not be argan oil, but it really works.

Bonus Product
St. Ives Sea Salt Body Wash – I know. It’s wrong because it’s not Bath & Body Works. Here’s the thing: I haven’t actually used this yet. I’ve been working on this post for about a week now and I wanted to publish it soon. But I just bought this product today because I heard about it from That’s Heart on YouTube. Well, I heard about their exfoliating face wash from her, anyway. But I wondered if they had an exfoliating body wash. I just ran out of my sugar scrub from Bath & Body Works and I really need to save some money.  I like to exfoliate on Sundays so I wanted to find something I can replace it with. I looked it up and found this one and ran out to get it. I haven’t used it since it’s not Sunday. I rubbed a little bit between my fingers and I feel like I might like it, and it’s a fraction of the price. So, once a week I can cheat on my B&BW, right? Maybe I’ll talk about it again in another one of these, so I can give it a fair review.

So those are the things I have for now. Who knows when the next one of these will be? I want to do it again, but like I said – I don’t buy new products very often. So we’ll see. Hopefully it is at least somewhat helpful though. 🙂

Thanks for reading. If you liked my post hit follow to geek out with me every week! And you can follow me on Twitter and Instagram at softlysaturated!
-J

 

4 thoughts on “Random Product Reviews

  1. I’ve never tried the BBW body scrubs, but If you end up disliking the St. Ives yet are still game to try out a drugstore product, I love the Tree Hut body scrub. I get mine from Ulta in the Hawaiian Ku..Ku…well I don’t remember how to spell it but it’s the Hawaiian scent haha. It’s $7 or $8 I believe and fantastic, in my opinion!

  2. I think I might pick up the e.l.f. daily brush cleanser now! I always see it in stores and the price is right, but I’ve never actually seen anyone talk about, but no I think I’m going to take it for a spin!

    https://frompaulwithlove.wordpress.com/

Thoughts?

