Maybelline: The Brights

Ready for a makeup product review? I know I am!

I don’t really know how new this is. But I came across it in the store recently and decided to pick it up. I haven’t really done any impulse buying when it comes to make up lately, just repurchasing things I run out of. Since I’d really been lamenting the fact that I simply am not willing to spend $50 on Urban Decay’s Electric palette (as awesome as it may be) I’ve been wanting something with bright vibrant colors. So I sprung for this $10 palette.

I have to say, I am super impressed! The color pay-off is way more than I would expect for something I paid so little for.  I was even able to create a super vibrant yet wearable rainbow look using only this palette. And here’s a potato quality photo of that…

PSX_20150429_144747

Gee, for someone who is supposed to be a photographer, I sure post a lot of crappy cell phone pics into my blog. 

Okay, so it may not look super wearable by looking at the eyelid, but trust me, It’s great. It also may or may not also have a Photoshop Express filter. (Okay, it does, but it’s still very close to what it looks like)Here, here’s a better photo to prove it.

11157490_10152853753137291_4503845974402047105_o

Oh hey girl, is that a new wig? Yup. But look at my eyeshadow.

It also has a few neutral shades in there, which is perfect for my life because I do a lot of more neutral looks on a typical work day.

As always, if you want the colors to really pop, use a nice eyelid primer. But the cool thing is you don’t necessarily need it. It’s pretty long lasting without it!

All in all, while it may not be a perfect dupe for the Electric palette (or really even close to it) it works out amazingly for my daily life. And if you’re anything like me in that you like to wear neutrals to work and vibrant colors when you’re going out, I would absolutely recommend this for you!

Thanks for reading. If you liked my post hit follow to geek out with me every week! And you can follow me on Twitter and Instagram at softlysaturated!
-J

By the way, I bought the wig off Amazon, and I love it. And it’s a pretty great quality for the price. Let me know if you want a full review of that, or just a photo shoot of some sort wearing it.

 

Thoughts?

