Tune Talk: Crybaby by Melanie Martinez

It’s been a long while since I’ve talked about music and even longer while since I’ve done a CD review, if I’ve even done one at all on this blog. I bought Melanie Martinez’s Crybaby when it came out and I’ve been listening to it a lot!

I don’t know if her sound is for everyone, but it’s certainly for me! And let me tell you all about it!

First off, the only thing I don’t really like is the fact that a lot of the songs start to sound the same after awhile. Many artists have this happen to them, including several of my favorites, so I’m not too worried about this.
But I’ve been listening to her nonstop!
I love her style, she sort of has a creepy-cute thing going on. Which is perfect, because her sound really blurs the lines between creepy cute. It’s sort of like a child’s nightmare. I love the way the melodies are very music box and pretty sounding, but when you listen to her lyrics, she’s singing about some darker themes.
I don’t know what else to say. Like I said, I’ve been listening to her so much lately. Her music had already inspired some potential photo shoots. It’s been awhile since I’ve discovered a new artist that I love, but she is it.

If you haven’t listened to her music already, she has a Vevo. This is my favorite song, “Pity Party.”

I would highly recommend Crybaby by Melanie Martinez, so check it out!

So, I’ve been missing the days when I used to talk about music back on my old Xanga blogs, so I think I want to try to keep doing it. So Tune Talk may end up being a regular thing.

Thanks for reading. If you liked my post hit follow to geek out with me every week! And you can follow me on Twitter and Instagram at softlysaturated!
-J

3 thoughts on “Tune Talk: Crybaby by Melanie Martinez

  1. I loved this too!! She fascinates me. If you liked her, I’d recommend BadLands by Halsey, they’re both similar and very awesome

Thoughts?

