Tune Talk: Dark Before Dawn by Breaking Benjamin

Breaking Benjamin’s Dark Before Dawn came out in June. Which means this post is a long overdue one. But, that’s the way I handle things on this blog so let’s just go with it. Six months behind on life, that sounds about right. Anyway.

There was a time when I though Breaking Benjamin was the best thing ever. The driving rock, the angsty lyrics, the moody music videos, and not to mention the sweet sound of Ben Burnley’s voice. What’s not to love? If, you know, you’re into that sort of thing. But the more I’ve been listening to them, the more I’ve been feeling like they’re one of those bands whose music all sounds the same. I’ve always felt that they get better with every album, so I was still hopeful when I heard about the release of Dark Before Dawn. Dear Agony was such a powerful and incredible album, they had kind of a lot to live up to there. And with all the band members, save for Ben, having been replaced I wasn’t sure they’d make the cut.

I’m not going to say I don’t like it. I’m not going to say I’m not as into them as I once was, even though that one might be true. But I was underwhelmed. This was a band whose next album was always way better than the one before it, at least in my opinion. And they fell short. I won’t discredit the new members. I think they did an amazing job at keeping within the same sound. Maybe I’m not as musically aware as I’d like to think but I hardly even noticed a difference, actually.
This album isn’t bad. Not at all. It’s well worth buying and listening to, that’s for sure. However, it’s no Dear Agony. So if you’re like me and you expected this album to surpass Dear Agony, you’ll probably be at least a little disappointed. But still, check it out. There’s some great songs. My favorite is “Angels Fall” which makes my anxiety playlist. (Let me know if you’re interested in that and I’ll post it. Just a list of songs that make me feel good when I’m feeling anxious.)

Dark Before Dawn on Amazon

“Failure” is a great one too. So check it out.

Thanks for reading. If you liked my post hit follow to geek out with me every week! And you can follow me on Twitter and Instagram at softlysaturated!
♥ J


Life Updates

Sweet new tree topper. #christmastree #doctorwho #weepingangel #dontblink #thinkgeek

A post shared by 🍂Jessa🌼 (@softlysaturated) on

Thoughts?

