Photo Diary: Back To Gaming w Bonus Story

I’ve decided to come on here and make a post since I’m pretty sure I’ve already neglected my New Year’s Resolution to post something once every two weeks. I think it’s week 3 since I’ve posted something last. But that’s okay, because I haven’t been up to anything interesting, so I don’t want to forcefully talk about… nothing.
I guess it’s not entirely true that I haven’t been up to anything. I’m back to work, which I love of course. And then there’s the thing I’ve been hinting at on Twitter and in recent posts. I guess I’ll just go ahead and say it’s about buying a house. I just didn’t want to make a whole post about it until it’s official. There’s been a lot of ups and downs there, and I’ve been actually writing the post as it goes on. Once it is official, that post will go live, and if nothing comes of it I’ll discard it completely.

This is gonna be a bit of a two for one post because I have a photo I wanted to share that has a bit of a story behind it.

I took this photo when inspiration hit me… when I was nowhere near my camera.IMG_20160205_214934

 

In addition, what I wanted to talk about today is, GAMING! If you’ve been here for awhile you’d know that I’m a bit of a casual gamer. I really love it but I feel that I seldom have the time to commit to games hardcore. It’s probably going to always be that way, but I play when I can and that’s fine with me.

It’s been a couple years since I’ve joined a D&D campaign even though there’s ALWAYS one going on in my group of friends. I honestly can’t think of a time when there wasn’t a game happening since I started hanging out with them.

The last game I played, I bowed out because I played a character that had a very specific backstory thinking it would fit. The character was Jessamine and the game was evolving in such a way where her story line simply didn’t mesh with the game’s.

Since then, I’d been toying with joining again but never really wanted to commit to it. Then one of my friends from a different social circle said he was starting a campaign: zero commitment. Roll a character, show up when you feel, the game will go on just fine if you don’t show. Perfect for my life. So I joined.
We’re playing 5th edition (my usual circle plays.. 3rd? Or statless.) and I decided to be a ranger. It’s been too long since I’ve played anything, so I wanted to stay in my comfort zone… and archers are my bread and butter.

It was a bit of a gateway game because now I want to join one of the games that my usual circle is playing again. I’m going to try Jessamine again, because I think it should work this time. It’s statless so it’ll be a bit easier to mold everything together.

My roomie has been playing her Pokemon: Heart Gold a lot recently too, which made me pick Pokemon: Y back up.  I saw in my old “Gamerz Corner” posts that I was going to do a Pokemon Adventures segment while I was playing White, where I update you where I am and what I’m doing in the game. I never did that, and I don’t know if I will. I never even finished White, if I’m being perfectly honest. It’s been disgustingly long time since I’ve finished a game of Pokemon… probably not since I’ve played the original Silver. 😦
I’m pretty determined to finish Y, because I really like it!  I’ll leave the rest up to you: if a lot of people like this, I’ll try and work some sort of gaming segment into my posts more often. If not, I’m just gonna go about my merry gaming ways on my own, which is fine too.

So, my gaming readers: what are you currently playing? What video game are you loving right now? Are you in any awesome D&D campaigns? 🙂

Thanks for reading. If you liked my post hit follow to geek out with me every week! And you can follow me on Twitter and Instagram at softlysaturated!
♥J

 

Thoughts?

