Random Faves Feb 2016

I did say I would do a random favorites post whenever I accumulated enough products to actually do one. It’s been almost a year since my last one, but I finally got enough to talk about. Some of these are pretty new and some aren’t at all but it’s the first time I’ve tried them. Some of these in fact, I’ve gotten very recently.

Likes

L’oreal True Match Lumi Powder Glow Illuminator – I think this came out pretty recently, actually. I’m not 100% sure.  I love this as a highlight! I use a stipple brush to swirl all the colors around then apply it to my cheekbones and it’s perfect for me. The one I got was Rose and I think it’s amazing. I will say it’s easy to go overboard as it does have quite a bit of shimmer to it, so use it carefully or you’ll have glitterface.

Wet n Wild Photofocus Setting Spray – This was a case where packaging got to me. It’s called Photo Focus and it has this cute little camera design on the lid. Call me crazy for buying it just for that… but oh well. I like it though! It helps me keep my makeup on all day. I’ve never used a setting spray before this one, so I assume that’s what it’s supposed to do haha.

 

Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion – I know this one is so not new. Everyone and their mom has it, loves it, lives it. But Tiffles recently gifted this to me and I can’t figure out how I lived without it. This makes a difference. There was a time I didn’t use primers and then I started to but it wasn’t until I used this one that I realized what a difference it makes. I’m a little afraid of it being a gateway to more high end make-up. I simply can’t afford to always buy the high end stuff, even with how well I stretch everything out. But this might be the product I do splurge on. I’m waiting to see how long one tube lasts me. I try to use it for when I’m going out as opposed to my every day looks so I don’t go through it too quickly.

Dislikes

Almay Smart Shade Correcting Primer – Ok, it’s not that I dislike this. I’ve never used a face primer before this one so I guess I’m not entirely sure what they’re for. I would guess that like eye primers it helps everything glide on smoother and last longer. It does that well just fine. The gimmick is that it is made of lavender and green to help neutralize your skin tone so it’s supposed to help with redness and under eye bags. At first I really regretted this purchase because when I put it on my skin looked even more red so I thought I was having an allergic reaction. My skin is super sensitive so I’ve always been careful about that sort of thing, and because of that I was actually kind of apprehensive about buying a primer. The problem went away and hasn’t happened again. I find that when paired with foundation and concealer it does neutralize alright, but I feel like there’s probably better primers out there. The smell is weird and it feels a little gritty. It works though.
So it’s not like I hate it, I just don’t know if I’d buy it again without looking at other primers first.

e.l.f. Eye Primer and Liner Sealer – So this one is a two in one sort of deal. It comes with an eye primer stick on one end and this little marker looking thing on the other end. That part is supposed to be for if you use an eyeshadow to line your eye, it gives you deeper look as if were really an eyeliner. I don’t know if I’m doing it wrong, I’ve tried it a couple different ways and I’ve still concluded that that part is garbage. The sealer gets everywhere and makes a mess for one thing. If you try to use it by dipping the applicator directly into the eyeshadow it does nothing. But if you try to draw the eyeliner on first then go over it with the sealer, it rubs your make-up off! I hate it, so I never use it. And the primer is just okay. I bought it because I didn’t see the kind they have that comes with a wand and I had run out. I miss that one, so hopefully it’s not gone from my stores. If I do find that one, I won’t be repurchasing this one.

Rusk Sensories Calm Shampoo and Conditioner – I am soooooo bummed about this one. Usually I love Rusk products! I had high hopes for this one, but it did not deliver. It smells bad, it’s super thin and liquidy, and it doesn’t do anything beneficial to my hair. I can’t wait til I run out.

Bonus

e.l.f. Total Face Brush – So, I’m not sure what happened here, but I think e.l.f. may have changed this brush? Either that or I bought the wrong one accidentally. But I had gotten a huge set of e.l.f. brushes and this big fluffy brush was included. Since they are cheaper brushes they started to break recently. A couple of them the hand just broke off the brush part and all it took was some super glue to fix. But in the case of this one, I think the glue holding the bristles together started to separate. It started shedding more and more and then there would be weird little chunks of glue coming out. It lasted me a few years so I had no problem getting a new one. But I think they may have changed it. I had mixed feelings about it. It’s way softer, which I love. But then I started to feel that it wasn’t picking up as much product as the other one did. When I did use some powder with foundation applied first it was then I realized that wasn’t the case. I was getting similar coverage with less cakeyness . So, I’m super glad for the change!

Maybelline The Rock Nudes – I did a full review of this. If you didn’t catch it, check it out here.

Wish List

 

matrixsleek

Matrix (I think they may be re-packaging this, I couldn’t find the picture on their website. The image is from amazon but the link is to the closest thing I could find to it.

Matrix Total Results Sleek Shampoo and Conditioner – When I bought my Rusk ones, my mom bought this set. When I stayed at my parents’ place to dogsit while they were on vacation, I ended up trying this. Wow. Way better. My hair felt so soft and healthy after using it. This will definitely be the set I buy next.

Wet n Wild Pink Brushes – Where in the heck can I find these besides their website? Oops, I didn’t pull a picture. But if you look at my Instagram widget on the side you can see where I re-grammed it. But seriously though. I saw that a lot of people are getting those from Walgreens and I have not been able to find them.
Why?? They’re so pretty and super cheap and I’ve heard great things about them!!

That’s all I have for now. Maybe there will be more next year.
What products have you been loving? Anything you want to try? Where the heck are those brushes?

Thanks for reading. If you liked my post hit follow to geek out with me every week! And you can follow me on Twitter and Instagram at softlysaturated!
♥J

P.S. I’m putting off my wig collection post. It’s totally gonna happen, I’m not deciding not to do it. It’s just more likely to happen next month as opposed to next week, ya know what I mean? There’s a couple of other projects I need to tend to first.

Thoughts?

