Random Faves: April 2016

I got things. And stuff. I don’t know. Once in awhile I get the urge to try out different products, so I picked up a couple things. It’s only been a few months since I did one of these. Since the last time before that was almost a year apart, I guess I’m stepping up my makeup game a bit? Anyway, here’s what I’ve been trying lately. I’m gonna start with the dislikes this time. I’m gonna call it negatives, though because there’s nothing from this list that I dislike, just a couple things I don’t love. When I say negatives, in this case, I really mean things that were just okay, not bad. I think that’s the case with both products in the “dislike” section.
I have a lot to say about everything, so bear with me if it gets a little long. Let’s get into it…

 

Negatives

Garnier Micellar Water –  I have a love-hate relationship with Garnier skin care because I’m into their cream moisturizer but their gel one is a complete fail. I’m also really careful about switching up skin care products because I am prone to having allergic reactions to things like that. I’ve heard a lot of talk about this product, and I knew Garnier didn’t really mess with my skin so I wanted to try it. I got the one that targets waterproof makeup since whenever I wear waterproof mascara I always have a hard time getting it all off. I figured if I bought this, I wouldn’t buy my night time face wash or makeup removing wipes anymore. So, you know, two birds… one stone. It does do an amazing job of getting all the makeup off, even waterproof so I like it for that. But I’ve noticed my face breaking out a little since I started using it. I don’t really like the way my face feels after I use it too. Even though it says it doesn’t contain oil, it gives me the feeling that my face is oily.  I don’t wear waterproof makeup very often, so I think I’m going to stick with my previous routine, and only use this stuff when I need to take off waterproof makeup.
Wet n Wild Color Correcting Palette – Color correction is where it’s at right now. I love the concept of using opposite colors to neutralize issues with the face. It’s like… applying art to your face. Which is the main reason I’m into makeup at all. I love art and I like… putting it on my face. So this is a little wheel that has a yellow, purple, green, and white pigment in it. You’re supposed to apply yellow to things like under-eye bags since to help calm them down. If you have like a bruise that looks a little yellow you can apply purple to help with that. Green can be applied to red areas to help with that. And white can be used as a highlight, anywhere you’d want to use one. I got this because Wet N Wild is always an affordable, yet good, brand so it would be a good place to start trying. Once again, I found this to be just okay. The difference it makes is so incredibly subtle. I wanted it as a supplement to my under-eye concealer because those bags really need help (I don’t think I get enough sleep) so it would be something I’d incorporate into my every day look. But it’s not worth the extra step, when I need to be running out the door. HOWEVER if you are going for a more flawless look, where every step counts (and once in awhile, albeit rare, I do) this does help.

Positives

Maybelline: The Blushed Nudes – A palette line that’s tried and true for me, I couldn’t resist getting their Blushed Nudes. It’s been out for awhile. But I love their palettes, as you may know. I loved their recent The Rock Nudes and I love The Brights. So I picked this up. I don’t really need to get into detail here. If you wanna know why I love them check out the other two. I got this one because I do a lot of neutral looks for work and this has some beautiful shades that work well on their own but would also be amazing paired with other shades, even from other palettes. Another win from the Maybelline palette.

Maybelline: Fit Me Concealer – Is this new? I’ve been hearing a lot about the Fit Me line lately, like all of a sudden. So just to give you a little insight to my normal routine, I use Maybelline’s age rewind concealer on the under-eye area because it just works really well for that area. Prior to that I was using Revlon’s Photo Ready concealer stick and I’ve really find that I don’t like concealers in stick form, especially for the under-eyes. So I’ve really only been using the stick on “full make up” days. I ran out, so I was ready to find something else. I got this and I really like it. It’s a liquid and it comes with a wand which I love. I still only use it for spot treating on more “full make up” days but it’s really blendable and brightening so I’m a fan. I may try the foundation when I run out of mine.

Wet n Wild Pink Brushes – That’s right! I finally snagged a couple. I heard amazing things about these and they’re so pretty and cheap that I’ve been really wanting them since I first saw them on Instagram. After running to a couple different Walgreens in my area I found out they only have four different kinds of these brushes, with no immediate plans to have more. At first I was mentally cursing Walgreens for not having them but I realized that Wet N Wild has the others listed on their website as “online only”. Boo! Hiss! Come on, Wet N Wild. No way do I want to pay for shipping on these brushes, the idea is that they’re really cheap. Why triple the price with shipping? Curses. Anyway, I ended up with the flat top brush which is absolutely perfect for applying foundation. Never will I use any other brush for that. And I got the large eyeshadow brush. It works really well for my every day look because I just apply one color of eyeshadow. So this helps get the shadow on there and then you can use it to blend out really nicely. I really want at least the fan brush, since I don’t have one yet but I hear it’s nice for applying highlight. I don’t know if I’ll ever get it. Probably if they start selling these brushes in the stores. They’re really great quality brushes so it may be worth it. But, I don’t know if I want to give in, just on principle.

Milani Eyeshadow Primer – I’ve saved this one for last because it’s the one that surprised me the most. Holy goodness have I heard a lot of talk about this one, and I’ve often heard it being comparable to Urban Decay’s Primer Potion. If you know how well this works, then you know how bold of a statement that is. I’ve resisted high-end make up. Because budget. When Tiffles gifted this stuff to me I realized that it might just be the one thing I’d have to seek high-end. I wanted to conserve it so much that I only used it for my full face days or weekend looks, or whatever you want to call it. Basically, not every day. I stuck with the e.l.f. primer I talked about in the last post for every day. But honestly. I was being too nice when I said that primer was okay. It’s garbage. ANYWAY. More to the point. I wanted something that would be good enough for every day so I wouldn’t have to use my UD one up really quickly. So I picked up this Milani one that I’ve heard so much about. It’s about half the price and it seriously is JUST AS GOOD.
I have a tendency to want to talk about something on my blog before really getting a chance to see how well it works and I wanted to talk about this instantly. But I decided to put it to the test by wearing it for a full day at work, and let me tell you that was the perfect day. I struggled getting my equipment up a really steep ramp with a ledge at the top so I was sweating up a storm. And crying because no one was there to help me.  And hey, no smudges, no creases. It’s brilliant. The one thing that’s keeping me on the fence of repurchasing UD when I run out is the application. The one I have has a wand (I think some of them don’t I’m not sure), which I prefer and the Milani one comes in a squeeze tube so I usually use a little brush to spread it evenly. It’ll probably be awhile before I have to think about that. And one thing I do have to see before I get too excited is how long the Milani one is going to last with every day use. You know, I like when I am able to make a product last a long time, especially when it’s a higher price.

And that’s it. So those are all the new things I’ve been trying out, and so far liking.
I know I talked a bit about my every day look vs my weekend or special occasions, which kind of got me thinking I may want to visit that topic in a future blog. My every day routine is pretty much the same all the time, but I have a lot of different looks for otherwise which can range anywhere to very light coverage but with a bright colorful eye look, to a flawless look, to absolutely no makeup at all… so maybe I’ll sit down and shoot some photos of these different looks. We’ll see.  I have a hard time photographing my make up looks. You’d think a photographer would do a better job…
Eh. I ramble.

I hope this helped anyone who might have been looking into any of these specific products. 🙂

Thanks for reading. If you liked my post hit follow to geek out with me every week! And you can follow me on Twitter and Instagram at softlysaturated!
♥J

P.S. I’m gonna post my cosplay shoot I did with my friend from work very very soon. I honestly don’t know why it’s taking me this long.

Thoughts?

