Camping “Beauty” Essentials

Once in awhile I like to unplug for a weekend and go camping. I wouldn’t say I “rough it” but I’m not sleeping in a portable house either. Something about day drinking in the woods, sitting around the campfire with some tunes in the background, and just being with friends and family for a weekend feels like a little mini vacation without spending too much money.

Now, I love makeup but I’m not the type of girl that can’t be caught dead without. When I go camping, I’m not concerned about my appearance, I just want to be comfortable. But that doesn’t mean I completely abandon my routine. I have a travel bag all made up that’s ready to grab and go whenever I’m going somewhere. Now, I’m going to show you everything that’s in there, but that doesn’t mean I use it all when I go camping for a weekend trip.

IMG_9612

Let’s get into the the products!

Hair

Rusk 12 in 1 TreatmentIMG_9626

This is something I make sure to have in my kit just in case. I hate the way my hair feels after I get it wet but don’t condition it. So, this is a must have for me in case I go swimming wherever I am.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_9621Redken Pillow Proof Dry Shampoo

Usually when I’m just taking a weekend trip, I wash my hair right before I leave and then I wash it whenever I get back. But just in case I get extra sweaty or greasy, I keep this  handy little guy with me.

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_9630Hair Brush and Hair Ties

Even though I’m camping, I still gotta brush my hair. And it’s super important to me to keep my hair off my neck so I don’t feel too hot. I love these ribbon hair ties because they’re gentle on my hair and they look like a cute bracelet when I put them on my wrist if they’re not in use!

 

 

 

Face

IMG_9620Clean & Clear Morning Burst Facial Scrub

It may not be my normal face wash but it’s something. I just like to start my day by washing my face and when I’m camping that’s no exception!

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_9619Aveeno Positively Radiant Daily Moisturizer

Actually, I’m not dead set that it has to be this particular moisturizer, just something with SPF. It’s very important when I’m spending a lot of time in the sun to keep my face (and the rest of my skin for that matter) protected. I use a moisturizer as opposed to sunscreen on my face because it feels a lot better. Less greasy, and nice and smoothing.

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_9618Neutrogena Makeup Remover Wipes

Okay, so these are in there as a travel essential, and not a camping essential since I don’t wear makeup camping. But there’s no point in taking them out just because I’m not going to need them. And if I do happen to get my face extra dirty, they’re still good to have in this case!

 

 

 

General Hygiene

IMG_9628Gotta have my toothbrush, some mouthwash, toothpaste and deodorant, no matter what!

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_9629If I’m on a weekend camping trip, I will shower, wash my hair, and shave before I leave and I’ll be just fine waiting until I get back to do so again. But if it’s a longer trip, I will definitely need these. I have my travel shampoo and conditioner, my little baby Bath and Body Works body gel, and a travel razor.

No shaving cream. I don’t use it in general. I have a smoother shave and better luck not cutting myself without it. Go figure.

 

 

 

IMG_9633Again, loofah for the longer trips, only needed if I end up taking a shower during the trip.

 

 

 

 

 

Camping Musts

IMG_9631Coppertone Water Babies Sunscreen

Gotta have sunscreen if I’m spending time in the sun. Duh. I use the children one because I have sensitive skin.

 

 

 

 

 

 

IMG_9632Repel 100 Bug Spray

Bug spray is definitely a must when camping! I tend to get eaten alive by mosquitoes so I for sure need. I recommend this one in particular because it doesn’t have a god awful smell. If anyone else can recommend one that smells pretty decent, let me know.

 

 

 
And I throw everything into a pouch and I’m ready to go.  I have a couple more bags that can be added to it if I’m going on an actual trip (not camping) and I do wanna bring my makeup with. And even then, I will only pack what can fit in there. The entire set was by Modella, and I think I found it at Target.

What do you do to unwind?

What sort of beauty essentials do you pack when traveling?

Thanks for reading. If you liked my post hit follow to geek out with me every week! And you can follow me on Twitter and Instagram at softlysaturated!
♥J

P.S. Here’s what’s to come!

Thoughts?

