Updated Brush Washing Routine

A couple years back I discovered the best way to wash my makeup brushes so I started getting into the habit of cleaning them on a regular basis. Since then, I’ve learned new things and I’ve updated my routine.

Now it’s even easier than before. So I decided to make this post to show you my new and improved routine.

As you can see here, I collect all my brushes that are on deck to be washed in this separate cup so I know which ones I was planning to wash.Brushes-1

First step is to take a little bit of baby shampoo and deposit it into a small dish. Brushes-2I got this plastic one for like 70 cents at Target. Brushes-3I have baby shampoo because it’s gentle for washing synthetic wigs and hair extensions, so I figure it would be just fine for synthetic brushes as well. (All of mine are cheap, synthetic brushes, I don’t buy anything expensive when it comes to makeup) I find that baby shampoo is much milder on the brushes and still gets them clean, so I no longer need to use a dish soap and olive oil.

Then, I wet the brush of choice and dip it into the dish.Brushes-4Brushes-5

Next, I take this super nifty brush egg and use it to scrub the dirt and makeup off. This thing is so cool. KathleenLights  mentioned this thing in her brush washing routine and I can’t believe how awesome it is. I got it on Amazon for less than a dollar, although I think it’s gone up since then. But even still, a couple of bucks for something so useful. It’s like a little wash board for your brush. It really helps get a nice deep clean very quickly.

Brushes-6

Obviously I can’t do this one-handed. I was shooting this by myself so I had to take it like this.

Then, I rinse them off. Here’s the really helpful thing about this brush egg: I had a lot of trouble with not rinsing some of my brushes properly. I’ll come back to check on them in a few hours and realize I’ve left a lot of suds on there. And this really helps with that because you can keep scrubbing under the running water until it comes back with no suds. Then you know it’s finally rinsed! Brushes-7

When they’re all done I put these brush guards over them, leaving a couple inches of room so they can be dried upside down in the cup. I got mine at Icing in the mall, but I see they’re also on Amazon, so I’d suggest getting them from there. Icing always overcharges for stuff.Brushes-9

So I leave them upside down for awhile and I check on them later. If they’re pretty dry I’ll put them back with the others!Brushes-10

Since changing my routine, I’ve saved a lot of time and therefore have started cleaning them as often as I should and I’ve cut down on wasting paper plates, red solo cups, paper towels, and olive oil. And all the things I use can be stored together very neatly. Brushes-12

How often do you wash your brushes? What brush cleaning technique changed your routine?

Thanks for reading. If you liked my post hit follow to geek out with me every week! And you can follow me on Twitter and Instagram at softlysaturated!
♥J

I have four pride bracelets left! Get one before they’re gone! All proceeds will be going to Equality Illinois.

Thoughts?

