By Why This Is (More or Less) a Beauty Blog

When I started blogging, way back when, I started for many reasons. I used to be an aspiring web designer, so it was another way to be connected to the internet. I suffered from anxiety problems and I wanted a way to vent once in awhile. Many of my real life friends didn’t follow my blogs, so it was a nice way to talk about things I didn’t want to bother my friends with. 

While I still struggle with issues with anxiety, my days of posting anything and everything about my life are over. There’s something to be said about venting to strangers, but at the end of the day, that’s not me anymore. 

It’s probably a good thing. I used to be an extremely negative person. I’ve come a long way since then. Now, when I blog, I just like to share things I’ve found or that I like. But I’ve noticed that I tend to post a lot about beauty on here. I don’t know who I have as followers at this point, hell, I don’t know if anyone even comes back to read my posts. And that’s fine. I am still going to blog, because I like it and I’ve always liked it. It’s not about collecting followers to me, I’d probably still blog if no one read it. 

But if you want to know why it’s very beauty heavy these days- here’s why. Makeup has without a doubt become my hobby. When my hobby, photography became my day job, it became less and less a hobby every day. I tried to avoid it at first. I tried to do a photo diary so I could still work on my own personal photos outside of work. I’m not saying I hate it now, because that’s not true at all. I still LOVE photography. Nothing compares to the overwhelming feeling of pride and happiness I feel when I create a photograph from start to finish. From the concept to the final edited product. And I probably will once in awhile get the urge to create a piece. But plain and simple, it doesn’t feel like a hobby anymore. I never wanted that to happen, but it’s okay that it did. I love what I do, I just don’t always enjoy doing it “just for fun” anymore. 

What do I like to do for fun? Watch makeup videos. Practicing different looks. Practicing different techniques. I love the versatility of makeup; how I can do a subtle look one day and turn around the next day and do a full glam look if I want. I’ve gotten better over the past few years and it’s just fun for me.

I’ve stopped doing my makeup every morning for work, but sometimes if I have the day off I’ll do a makeup look even if I’m not going anywhere. In fact, if I’m not going anywhere it’s the perfect time to practice something new! 

I love blogging. I love makeup. I love blogging about makeup. I’ll still stand by the fact that this blog will just be about whatever I feel like talking about from makeup to gaming to photography to music… But most days, I feel like talking about makeup. 

So that’s why you’ve seen a lot of “beauty guru Jessa” over the past few months. She’s probably here to stay, at least for awhile. 

I’m not sure why I felt the need to make a whole post about this? I don’t know, I just haven’t written in awhile and I wanted to, I guess.

What would you like to see more of on here? Do you care? 😁 

Thanks for reading. If you liked my post hit followto geek out with me every week! And you can follow me on Twitter and Instagram at softlysaturated!
β™₯J

P.S. I post on Instagram almost daily, so if you want to keep up with me, follow me there. (It’s very clear that I’m still pretty obsessed with taking pictures lol)

Thoughts?

